So, this Relief Society President thing

is, well, um…HUGE. My phone has not stopped ringing for 3 days. Well, I guess it’s not ringing now. It just rings while I’m nursing a baby and my other 2 kids are sledding down the stairs in a laundry basket. Either that or trying to do back flips off the couch–and my kids definitely aren’t good at back flips. All the phone ringing must coincide with a crisis, screaming, and nursing a baby. I don’t answer it then, but I do eventually have to return the calls. That’s when the fighting comes into play. My children have never fought so much until I had to make lots of phone calls, so I just ignore them and try to pay attention to what the person is saying at the other end of the line as the bigger kids climb into Logan’s crib and jump up and down and demolish his mobile while screaming at each other at the top of their lungs.

So, who’s idea was this?

I feel strangely peaceful about all of it. I’m just learning the ropes. I can do this. (positive thinking there)

Today was just crazy. Barry’s alarm didn’t go off. Who knows why. He probably just forgot to turn it on–or it had to do with the fact that we had each of our 3 children in bed with us for at least part of the night and his clock got knocked down somehow. Anyway, he woke up late. Pre-Presidency that would have been no big deal, but see, we only have one car. Barry missed the bus and it was raining, so he couldn’t make his usual bike ride. He had to take the car, but I had to be at the church at 11 to meet a truck with $500 worth of humanitarian aid for a local charity, and after that deliver groceries to a sister who just had surgery. He also had a lot of work to get done… Well, he came home early so that I could have the car. $500 worth of food is A LOT of food–a lot of really heavey food. And the woman who I delivered groceries to lived WAY out in the boonies. And I left my lights on while I was putting away her groceries, so I could not leave her house when I was done. Another sister who also lives way out in the boonies rescued me and jumped my car (because I had no jumper cables in it–just 3000 lbs of food).

Then it was Enrichment night. It was wonderful. We helped clean a clinic that helps migrant workers in the area. We stocked their pantry with food, we scrubbed the floors, wrapped Christmas presents and talked with each other.

It was also very humbling. I looked around and realized that if anyone from the outside looked at our group they would have no idea I’m the one in charge. I’m to akward and quiet around people I don’t know. I can never think of cute things to say or good questions to ask to keep a conversation going. I big groups of people I can not get my mind to focus–I never remember to take roll or…anything I should. I end up just watching a lot of the time… And I also realized that I am the youngest woman in the ward.

So, who’s idea was this again?

I did more today than I normally get done in a week. (Did I mention there is a fiber-arts show I am making new spindles for this Saturday? Yeah, that’s a lot of work too.) I’m hoping by next week I’ll figure this out so that week can remain sane and my children won’t be completely starved for my attention.

Heavenly Father is in charge here.

Good thing.

I had to MAKE something

My niece’s 1st birthday is next week. The easy, rational thing to do would be to go to a toy store and buy something for her…but I can’t do anything the easy way. I found a teddy bear pattern on the internet, spent hours cutting little pieces and sewing them together. But I must say I love the results!

PB130042.jpg

PB130041.jpg

I was so excited when I figured out how to shape the head and make eye sockets! It looks like a real teddy bear, not just a glorified pillow!

Now, to wrap it up and send it away. I’ll probably never see it again.

I’ll have to make one for myself.

UPDATE:
Jonah had him for 30 seconds and the head popped off.
I bought puzzles.

who me?

I was sustained as Relief Society president on Sunday. Crazy. Really crazy. I’m not old enough. I have too many little kids. This is going to be really hard, but I know it’s what I’m supposed to do…

on politics

I feel the urge to get a little political–you know, with the election and all.

I just got done reading this. Her November 3rd entry and all of the comments on it make it seem like it is the end of the world. The thing is–if Kerry had won the election the other half of the country would feel the exact same way. We would be lamenting about who would be appointed to the supreme court, what side of the Israeli- Palestinian conflict we would be on, and how exactly he would train Iraqi troops faster. There would be abject fear all over this land if Kerry had been elected–as there is fear that Bush has been re-elected.

There is such a polarization between those who believe in God and those who don’t. Is that it? Yeah–those who believe in a God with a set of expectations, in moral absolutes and those who believe in relativism. Where are the young voters? I’ve heard it over and over today and I want to stand up and shout, “I’M RIGHT HERE!” I’m 26 and I voted for BUSH *gasp*. I’m married with three children! But, I’m young and I voted for Bush along with a majority of the country.

I find it heartening that the ammendments about gay marriage passed everywhere. The vast majority of the country does believe in the sanctity of family and that children deserve a mom and a dad. I feel better about that than I do about the President.

But now we continue. Are we on the right path? I don’t know. Are record debts okay? Are more government controls over our children in school okay? Do we need to finance every fancy drug for everyone that wants it simply because it exists?

What I know is that there is war raging in the Middle East. There are people all over who want to destroy us and our freedom. We have to stand against evil–because there ARE moral absolutes.